And I’m the cataloger for the Mapping Special Collections project. In my previous nine or so lives, I’ve worked in preservation, reference, access, and technical services units of various libraries.

Once upon a time, I thought that I wanted to be an art historian. But I kept taking all these darned library jobs! And you know what I found out? Books are incredible artifacts for studying cultural, intellectual and technical history.

And so I decided to work on describing and arranging special collections. It is my belief that the heart of effective library research is an extensive and organized catalog, which sheds light on the many facets of the objects in the collection and brings them together in meaningful ways.

My goal for the project is to provide increased access to the collections at Goucher, making them available to researchers from a variety of backgrounds and specialties.

Allison Jai O’Dell
Special Collections Cataloger

